Voyeurism in Texas (Peeping Tom Statute)

The full text of Voyeurism in Texas can be found in section 21.17 of the Texas Penal Code.

 A person commits voyeurism if the person, with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of the actor, observes another person without their consent while they are somewhere in which they have a reasonable expectation of privacy.

An offense of Voyeurism is a Class C misdemeanor. A Class C misdemeanor has a range of punishment of a fine up to $500.

If however you have been convicted of Voyeurism 2 prior times, then the 3rd charge will be a Class B misdemeanor.  A Class B misdemeanor has a range of punishment of up to 180 days in a county jail, and a fine of up to $2,000.

If the “victim” is under 14 years of age, then this can be charged as a State Jail Felony.  A State Jail Felony has a range of punishment from 6 months to 2 years in the State Jail and a fine of up to $10,000.

What to do if you are charged with Voyeurism in Texas

Voyeurism is Texas’ version of the Peeping Tom Statute.  It is basically a new section of law that was created in 2015 that punishes individuals who “spy” on others that are in a place they believe is private.

Even though a first-time offense is only a Class C misdemeanor (which is the same level as a speeding ticket), it is very important to fight these cases.

First of all, it is really embarrassing.  You don’t want to plea guilty to this type of case, even if you can wipe it off of your record. Second, if you have prior convictions, this can eventually be used to enhance you to a higher punishment level.  You always need to protect yourself and protect your record.

Get a Free Consultation

I will fight to keep your record clean.  Give me a call, Houston Criminal Lawyer Eric J. Benavides, at 713-222-2828 and you can take advantage of my free consultation. You can also contact me about your case by filling in the following information.