Compelling Prostitution in Texas
The general Compelling Prostitution Law and full text can be found in section 43.05 of the Texas Penal Code:
You can be charged with compelling prostitution if you knowingly cause another by force, threat, or fraud to commit prostitution, or if you cause by any means a child younger than 18 years of age to commit prostitution (whether you knew or not).
- If the prostitute was over 18, then this is a Second Degree Felony which means you could receive a sentence of 2-20 years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.
- If the prostitute was under 18, then this is a First Degree Felony which means you could receive a sentence of 5-99 years in prison, and up to a $10,000 fine.
What do I do if I am Charged with Compelling Prostitution?
The minimum punishment they can give you for compelling prostitution is 2 years in prison. So even best case, compelling prostitution is a very serious case. This is not a normal prostitution. If you are charged with this crime, you are typically accused of being a violent “pimp”.
Prosecutors rarely feel any sympathy for individuals charged with this compelling prostitution. I will be there to help tell your story, or to help get the best possible deal for you. Many times there is an undercover operation, and I will do everything in my power to get the state to turn over all the evidence on the case (not just the evidence that is bad for you). We will evaluate the situation and make a decision if we want to fight the case, or if we are doing damage control and just want to get you through this difficult part of your time.