Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Texas
The full text of Failure to Comply with Registration Requirements can be found in section 62.102 of the Texas Penal Code.
A person commits this crime if the person is supposed to register as a sex offender and fails to comply with the requirements of Chapter 62 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.
If you don’t register as a sex offender like you are supposed to then the case is:
- A State Jail Felony if the person is on a 10 year registration requirement. A State Jail Felony is punishable by 6 – 24 months in a State Jail facility and a fine of up to $10,000.
- A 3rd Degree Felony if the person is supposed to register for life and is supposed to register yearly. A 3rd Degree Felony is punishable by 2-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- A 2nd Degree Felony if the person registers for life and is supposed to register every 90 days. A 2nd Degree Felony is a punishable by 2-20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you have been charged with failure to register as a sex offender, it is in your best interest to register right away. It shows good faith, and gives up at least a start at telling your story. Every single time I have a client charged with this crime, there is always an explanation. I will do my best to tell your story and try to get you the best possible outcome.
Get a Free Consultation
If you have any specific questions about this type of case please let me know and I will do everything in my power to help you. Houston Criminal Defense Attorney Eric J Benavides at 713-222-2828. You can also contact me about your case by filling in the following information. The first consultation is always free.