Promotion of Prostitution in Texas (Pimping)
The general Promotion of Prostitution Law and full text can be found in section 43.03 of the Texas Penal Code.
An individual commits Promotion of Prostitution if, acting other than as a prostitute receive compensation for prostitution services, and knowingly:
- Get money or other property pursuant to an agreement to participate in the proceeds, OR
- Solicit another to engage in sexual conduct with another person for compensation
This is charged as a State Jail Felony, which is punishable from 6 months to 2 years in the State Jail, and a fine of up to $10,000.
A charge of Promotion of Prostitution can be enhanced to a 3rd Degree Felony if you have been previously convicted of an offense under this section before. A 3rd Degree Felony is punishable 2-10 years in TDCJ (prison) and a fine of up to $10,000.
And if the charge involves someone younger than 18 engaging in prostitution (whether you knew or not), then it can be filed as a 2nd Degree Felony punishable 2-20 years in TDCJ and a fine of up to $10,000.
What do I do if I am charged with Promotion of Prostitution in Texas?
This is the charge they usually put on “Pimps”. The District Attorneys typically consider pimps to be on the same level of human traffickers. The lawmakers feel the same way. That is why even though prostitution is a misdemeanor, promotion of prostitution is a felony. You a lawyer that is willing and able to humanize you are tell your story.
I am an experienced defense attorney. I have been a defense attorney from the second I became a lawyer. I have never wanted to do anything else. I am willing and able to be your voice and stand up for you when no one else will.