- 1 DWI 3rd+ Offense In Texas
- 2 What Is A Third Offense DWI In Texas?
- 3 What Are The Penalties For A Third DWI In Texas?
- 4 Other Consequences Of A Third DWI Conviction
- 5 You Need A DWI Lawyer In Texas
- 6 Find Texas DWI Lawyers Near Me
- 7 Texas DWI Attorneys FAQ
DWI 3rd+ Offense In Texas
Punishment For A 3rd DWI In Texas
Nobody wants to be charged with a DWI offense for the third time because it carries severe consequences. Remember that even a first offense which is considered a misdemeanor can lead to a suspended driver’s license, jail time, and fines. A 3rd DWI offense is a felony, which means a longer time in prison, significant fines, and other severe consequences.
But an experienced DWI lawyer in Texas can help you prevail in a third offense DWI case or 3rd DUI offense.
What Is A Third Offense DWI In Texas?
Third-Offense DWI In Texas
In some states, there is a look-back period within which a DWI can count as a prior conviction. For example, there is a 20 year look-back period for a DUI in Illinois. That means that if you are convicted for DWI after 20 years, your last DWI conviction will not be considered in your sentencing. But in Texas, there is no look-back period meaning that even if your second DWI conviction is 30 years after your last conviction, it will still be considered a felony.
What Are The Penalties For A Third DWI In Texas?
What Is The Punishment For A DWI In Texas 3rd Offense?
The penalties for a third DWI are just like those for a first DWI only that they are more severe. Since a third DWI is a felony, you are more likely to spend a long time in prison rather than a short time in county jail. The following are the penalties for a third DWI:
- Jail time: People that get a third DWI conviction are not treated with leniency and often face a prison sentence of not less than 2 years and not more than 10 years. But a minimum of two years can be probated, which simply means you may be placed on probation with 600 hours of community service for two years instead of being sent to prison.
- Fines: Stiff fines normally accompany jail time in third DWI cases. You may have to pay a maximum fine of $10,000 or less. You may also have to pay various court fees, counseling fees, and other costs associated with your case.
- Suspended License: A conviction for a third DWI automatically leads to a driver’s license suspension. This means that your driving privileges are suspended for two years, and you may have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) when you get your license back. You also face a licensing fee surcharge of $2,000 every year for three years if you want your license reinstated.
Other Consequences Of A Third DWI Conviction
2nd And 3rd DWI Offenses In Texas
Additional consequences include:
- Landlords refusing to let you lease or rent their properties
- Losing your job
- A professional license getting suspended
- Voting rights get withdrawn
- Damaged reputation
- These consequences can make it harder for you to live your life freely.
You Need A DWI Lawyer In Texas
What Is A DWI Third Offense
Your DWI lawyer’s first goal is going to be to fight the DWI charges to either get them dismissed or the sentences reduced. An experienced DWI lawyer knows the negative consequences of a DWI conviction and will help you build the strongest defense possible.
Find Texas DWI Lawyers Near Me
Texas DWI Attorneys FAQ
What happens if you get a 3rd DWI in Texas?
If you are convicted for a third DWI it will result in a prison sentence of no less than two years and no more than ten years. The two-year minimum can be inaccurate because the court might decide to have the majority of that sentence probated.
How many DWIs is a felony in Texas?
In most cases, a DWI case is only elevated to a felony if the offender has already been found guilty of at least two misdemeanor DWI crimes. Even for a first or second DWI offense, there are several circumstances in which you will face felony charges.
Can a DWI be dismissed in TX?
Texas DWI charges, particularly for a first occurrence, may be completely dropped or reduced to a less serious charge like reckless driving.