First Offense DWI In Texas Can Result In

The Fine For First Offense DWI Is In TX

Generally, the severity of the administrative penalties that come with a first-time DWI conviction is determined by the circumstances of your arrest and your past criminal history.  But a first-time DWI conviction is still serious, which means the penalties will feel severe to some extent.

A first-time DWI charge or conviction can appear in your record and affect your future. That means that you may struggle to find suitable housing, a job, and even education in some instances. A trusted DWI law firm can give you more information regarding  a DWI first offense in Texas.

DWI In Texas

DWI In Texas First Offense

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle on Texas roads while you are intoxicated with alcohol or drugs. However, just because you have alcohol in your system does not mean that you are “intoxicate” Intoxication actually means:

  • Your physical and mental faculties no longer function properly because you took alcohol, a controlled substance, a dangerous drug, a combination of drugs, or other substances.
  • Your blood alcohol content of 0.085 and over

It is possible to be convicted of DWI when you have a BAC below the required limit. But the prosecution has to prove that the substance you consumed made you drive dangerously.

Does A DWI Arrest Lead To Conviction

Driving While Intoxicated First Offense Is A

DWI Texas First OffenseJust because you have been arrested for DWI does not necessarily mean that you will be convicted. You should hire an experienced DWI attorney to help you fight the charges. With an attorney by your side, you have a better chance of beating the charges.  This is possible because the prosecution is required to prove that you were driving while intoxicated.

Some situations your attorney can take advantage of is when the evidence the prosecution side produces has been tampered with or if the necessary protocol was not followed during your arrest.

What Are The Consequences Of A DWI?

DUI Charges First Offense

You face fines and possible jail time if you are convicted of DWI.  You may also face additional administrative penalties related to driver’s license suspension. Collateral penalties often accompany DWI convictions but they are often unpredictable.

Criminal Penalties

DWI Class A Misdemeanor Texas

Texas law shows what penalties are appropriate for a DWI conviction. Any prior DWI conviction can lead to harsher penalties.  First-time and second-time DWI convictions are misdemeanors and any subsequent  DWI conviction is a felony.  Penalties for DWI convictions include:

  • First-time DWI conviction: This is a Class B misdemeanor that carries a fine and a jail sentence of up to 180 days. When a person is found with a BAC of 0.15 and it’s their first offense, it becomes a Class A misdemeanor, which carries fines and a maximum of one year in prison. First offense convictions also lead to a license renewal surcharge every year for three years.
  • Second-time DWI offense: This is a Class A misdemeanor that carries a maximum fine and one year in jail.
  • Third Offense DWI:  Since it’s a felony, it carries more severe penalties. A conviction carries a hefty fine and the maximum prison sentence is ten years.
  • Fourth offense DWI: This is also a felony that carries a high fine and a maximum jail time of 10 years.

Find A TX DWI Law Firm Nearby

TX DWI Law Firm Office Location